Mochilla Presents Timeless: Suite For Ma Dukes (2LP)

Mochilla Presents Timeless: Suite For Ma Dukes (2LP)

J Dilla

Regular price €40.00 Sale




Repress! Mochilla’s Timeless series reignites in 2021, housed in full color gatefold jackets with the vinyl housed in printed inner sleeves. In 2009, Brian Cross (aka B+) organized a series of live events at the Luckman Fine Arts Complex in Los Angles. The Timeless series captured the lasting impact of several artists on the world of Hip Hop and beyond. Live fully orchestrated performances by Ethiopia’s Mulatu Astatke and Brazil's Arthur Verocai bookended the incredible Suite For Ma Dukes, a tribute to James "Dilla" Yancey, by Miguel Atwood-Ferguson. These superb quality live recordings, now long out of print, are back in effect in 2021. On Mochilla Presents Timeless: Suite for Ma Dukes Miguel Atwood-Ferguson pays tribute to Dilla by interpreting his music for a 60-piece orchestra featuring special guests Bilal, Dwele, Posdnuos, Talib Kweli, Karriem Riggins and more. This premiere performance left many in the sold out crowd in tears. In attendance that night was Common, who commented “To hear J Dilla’s music expressed in that form just let me know once again how great he is. It moved me for real” with famed BBC personality Giles Petersen saying “That’s just about the most powerful thing I’ve heard. Brilliant."


A1. Morning Order
A2. Antiquity
A3. Le Yachting
A4. Untitled/Fantastic

B1. Welcome 2 Detriot
B2. Gobstopper
B3. Take Notice
B4. Affolements Granitiques
B5. Don’t Nobody Care About Us
B6. Jealousy

C1. Hoc N Pucky
C2. Angel

D1. Reminisce
D2. Stakes Is High
D3. Fall In Love