I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings (LP)

I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings (LP)


Regular price €25.00 Sale


Over the last decade RAST has made a name for himself as one of the undergrounds most original voices. RAST has released a handful of albums, freestyles and a slew of online singles (including collaborations with Czarface, Hus Kingpin and Your Old Droog). But before all this, RAST held down the 90’s as part of the New York Graffiti
crew RFC. It was during this time that many of the tracks on “I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings” draw from. The album has no features and was produced entirely by
The Czar-Keys (7L & Jeremy Page) - and this was done by design. 7L and RAST worked together on the vision and the direction they wanted to go with for the album. As 7L points out “I wanted to really take it back to a time when the rapper was the main focus. This is also why we didn’t go with a group name or a RAST & 7L title. For me it was really all about RAST, and his story is so personal that it just made sense for him to be the only voice you hear”. “I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings” is an album where, as pointed out in the albums intro "Caged", is RAST at his most honest and vulnerable.

A1. Caged
A2. I Lost My Mind And Found God
A3. The Devil's Playground
A4. Runaway Slave
A5. Base
A6. It Lurks In The Night
B1. Don't Do It
B2. Children Of Attica
B3. The Little Boy Who Lived In A Tree
B4. The Remarkable Story Of The Silent Machine Gun
B5. I'm Tired Of Not Being Me